Skip to content

Daytime Emmy® Awards Hosts Announced


LOS ANGELES, CA – April 16, 2019 – Announced today on the CBS Daytime program, The Talk and the entertainment news program, EXTRA,Mario Lopez, host of the Emmy-award winning syndicated entertainment news show, EXTRA, and Sheryl Underwood, one of the hosts of the Emmy-award winning, CBS Daytime program, The Talk, have been named as hosts of the 46th Annual Daytime Emmy® Awards to take place on Sunday, May 5th, 2019 at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium in Burbank, California.

“The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is happy to announce that two of daytime television’s brightest stars, Mario Lopez and Sheryl Underwood, will lead the magnificent celebration planned for this year’s 46th Daytime Emmy® Awards,” said Adam Sharp, President, NATAS.

“I am thrilled to have one of the most entertaining combinations in daytime television hosting our grand gala at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium,” said David Michaels, SVP, Daytime, (NATAS). “With their combined wit and charm, plus America’s favorite Arbiter, Judge Judy, receiving this year’s lifetime achievement award as well as the best of Daytime nominated in all genres and a stellar list of presenters yet to be announced, it promises to be a memorable night for the daytime community.”

In addition, The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, is thrilled to announce that David Osmond (Jonah and the Great Fish, Green Flake and Emmy Award-nominated Producer of Wonderama) will host the Creative Arts Celebration on Friday, May 3rd, with the extraordinary talents of Emmy Award Winner, Carolyn Hennessy (GH, True Blood and Revenge) will be returning as host of the Daytime Emmy® Awards LIVE STREAM from the Red Carpet and Backstage Post Show interviews with the winners on May 5th.  Fans can tune in and ask their own questions via Twitter at and Facebook at or follow on Twitter/Instagram @DaytimeEmmys

*** Mario Lopez is the two-time Emmy Award-winning host of Extra, the Emmy Award–winning entertainment news program, a nationally syndicated, daily entertainment show.  This is Lopez’s tenth consecutive season as the show’s host, after co-hosting Extra’s weekend edition since January 2007.

Sheryl Underwood Sheryl Underwood is an Emmy® Award-winning host of THE TALK, CBS’ Daytime Emmy Award-winning talk show that examines topical events and contemporary issues through the eyes of five female hosts. She hosts the show alongside Eve, Sara Gilbert, Carrie Ann Inaba and Sharon Osbourne.

David Osmond is an Emmy Award-nominated Producer and born of musical royalty, as the son of legendary singer Alan Osmond. He and his siblings rose to fame on the coat tails of their parents in The Osmonds 2nd Generation. The group toured and performed around the world, even scoring four top forty hits. *** Full Bio Attached

Carolyn Hennesy is an Emmy Award-winning stage actress, known for her deliciously vicious and often characters on ABC’s Revenge, Cougar Town and General Hospital, as well as HBO’s True Blood

The Daytime Emmy Awards recognize outstanding achievement in all fields of daytime television production and are presented to individuals and programs broadcast from 2:00 a.m.-6:00 p.m. during the 2016 calendar year. The 46th Annual Daytime Emmy Awards is a presentation of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational, and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Awards for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime and Daytime Creative Arts programming, as well as achievements in television Technology & Engineering.  NATAS membership consists of more than 17,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country. Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including regional student television and its Student Award for Excellence and the National Student Production Awards for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public. NATAS celebrates the life experiences and diversity of our team, our members, and the vibrant community of creative professionals we serve.

Press Registration forms for the Daytime Emmy Awards can be found on the NATAS website at

***Daytime Creative Arts Emmy Awards Ceremony on Friday, May 3rd
Red Carpet: 4:30pm-6:15pm (PST) – Awards Presentations Begins at 7:00pm (PST)

***Daytime Emmy Awards Ceremony on Sunday, May 5th
Red Carpet: 2:00pm-4:15pm (PST) – Awards Show Goes Live at 5:00pm (PST):

The 46th Annual Daytime Emmy(R) Awards on May 5th can be viewed LIVE on the following outlets

On The Web:

On Facebook:  and

On Twitter: @TheEmmys and @DaytimeEmmys

On YouTube:

as well as on the KNEKT TV network ( on Apple TV, Roku, iOS and Android.


On The Web:
Daytime Emmys:
Daytime Emmys Twitter:

For More Information:
Paul G. Pillitteri, SVP, Communications –

NATAS Press Contact:
B. Harlan Boll (BHBPR) – / 626-296-3757

All Credentials are handled through Slate PR:
Andy Gelb – and Elyse Weissman –