Skip to content

Individual Achievement In Animation Honorees Announced


Honorees to be feted on Friday, May 3rd at Pasadena Civic Auditorium

New York, NY – March 27, 2019 – The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) today proudly announced the honorees for outstanding achievement in animation who will be honored at the 46th Daytime Creative Arts Emmy® Awards on Friday, May 3rd, 2019.  The presentation will take place at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium in Southern California.

“The incredible leaps in innovation and production design of these animators continues to show the life, breadth and growth of this evolving craft, “said Adam Sharp, President and CEO, NATAS. 

 “The category of Individual Achievement in Animation is a Juried Award,” said, Brent Stanton, Executive Director, Daytime Emmy Awards, NATAS.  “A panel of experienced judges composed of animation professionals determine the excellence of submissions from individuals who work in the various craft areas: Character Design, Storyboard, Art Direction/Production Design, Background Design, Layout and Color and Character Animation.  Entrants submit their work from a single episode.  There can be one, more than one, or no recipients, depending on the level of excellence.”

The panel chose to honor the work of six individuals:

Character Design
Kal Athannassov – Crow: The Legend, Baobab Studios

Production Design
Cody Gramstad – Crow: The Legend, Baobab Studios
Alan Bodner – Rapunzel’s Tangled Adventures, Disney Channel

Background Design
Brian Woods – Rapunzel’s Tangled Adventures, Disney Channel

Kevin Wotton – Spirit Riding Free, Netflix

Character Animator
Yizhou Li – Tumble Leaf, Amazon Prime Video

The Daytime Creative Arts Emmy Awards and The Daytime Emmy Awards recognize outstanding achievement in all fields of daytime television and are presented to individuals and programs broadcast from 2:00 a.m.-6:00 p.m. during the 2018 calendar year.

The 46th Annual Daytime Creative Arts Emmy Awards and The Daytime Emmy Awards is a presentation of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational, and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Awards for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime and Daytime Creative Arts programming, as well as achievements in television Technology & Engineering.

NATAS membership consists of more than 17,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country. Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including regional student television and its Student Award for Excellence and the National Student Production Awards for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public.

For more information, please visit the website at


For More Information: NATAS Press Contact:

Paul G. Pillitteri, SVP, Communications –

B. Harlan Boll – 626-296-3757