Skip to content

NATAS Board Announces New Chairman & Officers


New York, NY – July 19, 2018 — The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) and its Board of Trustees announced today the election of a new Chairman and Officers to the organization. Elected at the Spring Trustees Meeting in New York City on June 29, 2018, Terry O’Reilly, President, CEO, Pittsburgh Community Broadcasting, was named Chairman.

“It is a terrific honor to take the lead at NATAS at this important time,” said O’Reilly. “As the challenge of change looms large for our industry, there has not been a more important moment for our Academy and for the Emmy® Award in recognizing and rewarding excellence in media. Today we are seeing the emergence of an entirely new generation of media makers – exceptionally talented individuals who seek to join their peers and predecessors in the art of compelling storytelling. It is the job of our Academy to identify and  help develop this next generation of superb storytellers, and in so doing ensuring that the Emmy Award continues to remain the ‘gold standard’ for our industry.”

Also elected were the following individuals:

Jason Anderson, 1st Vice Chair
David Burt, 2nd Vice Chair
Julie Lucas, Secretary
Phillip Bell, Treasurer

All of these individuals assumed their roles for a two-year term as of July 1, 2018. Also extended was the role of Adam Sharp, formerly Head of News, Government and Elections for Twitter, as Interim-President and CEO of NATAS.

Terence Joseph O’Reilly

Terry  O’Reilly  is  an  award-winning  producer,   journalist   and   executive, with more than four decades of domestic and international media experience.

In 2016 he returned home to Pittsburgh and was appointed the first President and CEO for Pittsburgh Community Broadcasting, a nonprofit public media company comprised of 90.5 WESA, Pittsburgh’s NPR news station, and 91.3 WYEP, a AAA-format popular music station, along with their associated digital properties. During his tenure he has led the company through record growth, both financially and in listenership.

Previously, he served as Senior Vice President and Chief Content Officer for Twin Cities PBS (Minneapolis), one of America’s most innovative and influential public media institutions. His resume also includes experience in senior roles in the US and abroad, at ABC News/The Walt Disney Company, The Weather Channel, Hubbard Broadcasting Company and Westinghouse Broadcasting Company.

His work has been recognized with a National Daytime Emmy® Award, more than two-dozen Regional Emmy® Awards, and a film selected for the 2012 Sundance Film Festival. He is a Life Member of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS). He is also a past Chairman of the Royal Television Society (North America) and a voting member of the British Academy of Film & Television Arts (BAFTA).

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences 

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment, Public & Community Service, and Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of more than 16,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country. Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including Regional Student Television and its Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public. For more information, please visit the website at

For press, please contact: PG Pillitteri, SVP, Communications,