Skip to content

NATAS Scholarships 2019 – call for entries

Apply at – Deadline March 15, 2019

NEW YORK, NY – January 17, 2019 – The Foundation of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences is happy to announce the call for entries for the Foundation’s 2019 Scholarship Programs.

“We are happy to announce the details for our annual scholarship process for the next generation of television professionals” said Doug Mummert, Chairman, NATAS Foundation. “These students are the future of our craft and industry. Every year we are impressed by the content, execution and breadth of scope of the entries we receive from these young, talented future leaders of television.”

“With the slate of scholarships available, we reaffirm the standard of creative achievement reflected in the Emmy® Award by investing in these young talented students and acknowledge the lasting legacy of those great practitioners of our craft who have left their mark on our industry,” said NATAS President and CEO, Adam Sharp, a 1996 Trustees’ Scholarship winner.

“Every year the judges are more impressed with the creativity and quality of content students submit,” said Melinda Roeder, Chair, Scholarship Committee.  “The aim of this scholarship program is to reward their efforts while encouraging students to pursue careers in television broadcasting and video production and uphold the high ideals and standards NATAS exemplifies.”

These are the distinguished national scholarships awarded to outstanding high school seniors planning to pursue television-related baccalaureate degrees:

  • The Douglas W. Mummert Scholarship ($10,000) – Awarded to a student pursuing a career in any aspect of the television industry, who has made a positive impact through community service.
  • The Randy Falco Scholarship ($10,000) — Awarded to a Hispanic or Latino student pursuing a career in any aspect of the television industry.
  • The Jim McKay Memorial Scholarship ($10,000) — Awarded to a student pursuing a career in sports television.
  • The Mike Wallace Memorial Scholarship ($10,000) — Awarded to a pursuing a career in television journalism.
  • The NATAS Trustees’ Scholarship ($10,000) — Awarded to a student pursuing a career in any aspect of the television industry.

This is the seventh year of the Mike Wallace Memorial Scholarship, funded by a grant from CBS News in honor of longtime correspondent Mike Wallace (1918-2012) and presented each year at the News & Documentary Emmy® Awards. The Jim McKay Memorial Scholarship, now in its tenth year, honors sportscaster Jim McKay (1921-2008) and was established in 2009 by the HBO, CBS, NBC, ABC and FOX networks.  It is presented at the Sports Emmy® Awards. This is the fourth year of the Randy Falco and Trustees Scholarships.

Applications for national scholarships are due by 5 pm EST on Thursday, March 11th, 2019 via the online forms at – NATAS Trustees and officials with the National Scholarship Committee will review applications and creative works along with participation from Univision Communications Inc., on the Randy Falco Scholarship.  Final selections for all scholarships will be made in late April.

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment, Public & Community Service, and Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of over 17,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country.  Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including Regional Student Television and its Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public.  For more information, please visit the website at

For more information, please contact: Paul Pillitteri, SVP, PR & Communications,