Skip to content

41st Documentary Programming Winners


The Second of Two Ceremonies

NEW YORK, SEPTEMBER 22, 2020 – Winners in Documentary Television Programming for the 41th Annual News and Documentary Emmy® Awards were announced today by The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS).  The News & Documentary Emmy Awards were presented as two individual ceremonies this year: categories honoring Documentaries were presented tonight. Yesterday, Monday, September 21st, 2020, categories honoring Television News Programming were presented.  Both ceremonies were live-streamed on our dedicated platform powered by Vimeo.

“Tonight, we proudly honored the outstanding professionals that make up the Documentary Television Programming categories of the 41st Annual News & Documentary Emmy® Awards,” said Adam Sharp, President & CEO, NATAS.  “As we continue to rise to the challenge of presenting a ‘live’ ceremony during Covid-19 with hosts, presenters and recipients all coming from their homes via the ‘virtual technology’ of the day, we continue to honor those that provide us with the necessary tools and information we need to make the crucial decisions that these challenging and unprecedented times call for.”

Tonight’s ceremony was hosted by three distinguished documentarians: Lynn Novick, creator of more than 80 hours of programming with Ken Burns, Dawn Porter, award-winning documentary filmmaker, Trilogy Films, and David Fanning, founder, and executive producer at large, FRONTLINE.

All programming is available on the web at Watch.TheEmmys.TV and via The Emmys® apps for iOS, tvOS, Android, FireTV, and Roku (full list at Tonight’s show and many other Emmy® Award events can be watched anytime, anywhere on this new platform.

The 41st. Annual News & Documentary Emmy® Awards honors programming content from more than 2000 submissions that originally premiered in calendar-year 2019, judged by a pool of 875 peer professionals from across the television and streaming/digital media News & Documentary industry. The complete list of winners follows and is also available on the National Television Academy’s website:

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational, and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Awards for News & Documentary, Sports, and Daytime television programming, as well as achievements in television Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of more than 18,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the United States Beyond awards, NATAS provides extensive educational programs through its Foundation, including regional and national scholarships and Student Production Awards.

Paul Pillitteri
B. Harlan Boll

The numerical breakdown, by media entities, as compiled by the independent accountancy firm of Lutz and Carr, LLP, follows:

Over-the-Air, Cable, Satellite and Internet Broadcast Nominees

National Geographic2
Discovery Channel1
FX Networks1
Smithsonian Channel1