Skip to content

41st News programming Winners


Katy Tur, MSNBC Anchor & NBC News Correspondent and
Tony Dokoupil, “CBS This Morning” Co-Host,
Anchor the First of Two Ceremonies

NEW YORK, SEPTEMBER 21, 2020 – Winners in Television News Programming for the 41th Annual News and Documentary Emmy® Awards were announced today by The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS).  The News & Documentary Emmy® Awards are being presented as two individual ceremonies this year: categories honoring the Television News Programming were presented tonight. Tomorrow evening, Tuesday, September 22nd, 2020 at 8 p.m. categories honoring Documentaries will be presented.  Both ceremonies are live-streamed on our dedicated platform powered by Vimeo.

“Tonight, we proudly honored the outstanding professionals that make up the Television News Programming categories of the 41st Annual News & Documentary Emmy® Awards,” said Adam Sharp, President & CEO, NATAS.  “As we continue to rise to the challenge of presenting a ‘live’ ceremony during Covid-19 with hosts, presenters and accepters all coming from their homes via the ‘virtual technology’ of the day, we continue to honor those that provide us with the necessary tools and information we need to make the crucial decisions that these challenging and unprecedented times call for.”

All programming is available on the web at Watch.TheEmmys.TV and via The Emmys® apps for iOS, tvOS, Android, FireTV, and Roku (full list at Tonight’s show and many other Emmy® Award events can be watched anytime, anywhere on this new platform.

In addition to MSNBC Anchor and NBC. News’ Katy Tur and CBS’ Tony Dokoupil acting as tonight’s hosts, Pierre Thomas, Chief Justice Correspondent of ABC News was also a featured presenter at the 41st News & Documentary Emmy Awards.

The 41st. Annual News & Documentary Emmy® Awards honors programming content from more than 2000 submissions that originally premiered in calendar-year 2019, judged by a pool of 875 peer professionals from across the television and streaming/digital media News & Documentary industry. The complete list of winners follows and is also available on the National Television Academy’s website:

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational, and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Awards for News & Documentary, Sports, and Daytime television programming, as well as achievements in television Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of more than 18,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the United States Beyond awards, NATAS provides extensive educational programs through its Foundation, including regional and national scholarships and Student Production Awards.

Paul Pillitteri
B. Harlan Boll

The numerical breakdown, by media entities, as compiled by the independent accountancy firm of Lutz and Carr, LLP, follows:

Over-the-Air, Cable, Satellite and Internet Broadcast Nominees

FX Networks3
Smithsonian Channel1
The New York Times1

Regional Nominees

*Awards presented in these categories are not Emmy Awards, but rather a form of special national recognition given to outstanding regional news reports. Award recipients in the regional reporting categories receive crystal pillars rather than Emmy statues.