Skip to content

NSPA Winners 2022



NEW YORK, November 17, 2022 – Winners of the 7th Annual National Student Production Awards were announced today during a virtual ceremony hosted by ABC News correspondent, Rachel Scott. The Foundation of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) presents this competition which recognizes talented students from across the country.

““The future journalists, analysts, correspondents and entertainers of the next generation will be found among these talented young nominees represented here,” said Adam Sharp, President & CEO, NATAS. “Highlighting their work and encouraging their pursuit of excellence is one of the primary mandates of our Foundation.”

This year, students from over 120 schools were represented in the competition having previously been selected as winners in one of the NATAS Regional Chapter competitions.

“These students represent the finest of the finest, in their field of study,” said Doug Mummert, Chairman of the NATAS Foundation. “They are the future of our craft and industry. We look forward to great things from these young, creative leaders!”

In addition to Rachel Scott, the award winners were announced by Alzo Slade, Vice News; Malika Andrews, ESPN; Maddie Matthies, MadMatthies; Danielle Mannion, NATAS Education Chair and Lindsey Reisner, MSNBC.  Recipients were announced via a web stream produced by NATAS. This and all NATAS ceremonies are available on NATAS’ dedicated viewing platform powered by Vimeo, available on the web at  Watch.TheEmmys.TV and via The Emmys® apps for iOS, tvOS, Android, FireTV, Roku and Samsung TV (full list at

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational, and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Awards for News & Documentary, Sports, and Daytime television programming, as well as achievements in television Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of more than 18,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the United States Beyond awards, NATAS provides extensive educational programs through its Foundation, including regional and national scholarships and Student Production Awards.

Press NYC – PaulPillitteri,

Press LAHarlan Boll,

Danielle Mannion,

Social Media
NATAS Website:
NATAS/National Student Production Awards Instagram:


Lincoln Live 2022, Gahanna Lincoln High School (Ohio Valley Chapter)

Audrey Paquette, Conor Mallonn, Wesley Triplett, Rei Tedoco, Reagan Reetz, Brittan Alexander,
D’Andre Person, Sophia Peck, Gabriella Fabrizio, Caroline Mattox, Avery Hall, Lily Sager,
Jillian Sanders, Mia Sammons, Juju Grubich, Angel Christmon, Josh Knuckles, Rosie Letzelter,
Rosie Pfister, Brendan Phillips, Javan Simmons
Mark Lowrie, Advisor

Quick Cut 11-19-21, Crown Point High School (Chicago/Midwest Chapter)

Madeline Degenhart, Rocco Jann, Eddie Finn, Christopher Gloff, Hailey Lloyd, Claire Patena
Brent Barber, Chris Gloff, Advisors

News Report – Serious News

Melissa’s Kidney Search, Aberdeen Central High School (Upper Midwest Chapter)

Hunter Paysen
Erich Schaffhauser, Advisor

News Report – Light News

Riley’s Red Wagon, Cypress Bay High School (Suncoast Chapter)

Isabella Chiappini, Kimberly Blum, Michael Orlando, Emma Luckman
Taiwo Cummings, Advisor

Multimedia Journalist (MMJ) or Video Essay

Remembering #7, Gahanna Lincoln High School (Ohio Valley Chapter)

Audrey Paquette
Mark Lowrie, Advisor

Non-Fiction – Short Form

Set of Three, Franklin High School (Nashville/Mid-South Chapter)

Graham Wynn
Keri Thompson, Advisor

Non-Fiction – Long Form

No Ordinary Time, MAPS Media Institute (Northwest Chapter)

Lotus Porte-Moyel, Hadley Pearson, Mara Flynn, Quin Vulk, Eowyn Malcomson, Liz Sandowski,
Joseph Corbett, Autumn Chandler, Rylie Schoenfeld, Loreley Drees, Autumn Denney,
Brennan Jensen, Arcadion Jones
Clare Ann Scharff, Advisor

Public Affairs/Community Service

ESports Persuasive Documentary, Fort Hayes Career Center (Ohio Valley Chapter)

Anoulak Blanchet, Tristan Casto, Carter Seipel
Julie Kindinger, Advisor

Arts/Entertainment/Cultural Affairs

TikTok is Eating YouTube Alive, Deerfield High School (Chicago/Midwest Chapter)

Jack Gordon, Cole Bernstein, Sam Brody-Goldberg
Brett Schwartz, Advisor

Magazine Program

The Mane, Metea Valley High School (Chicago/Midwest Chapter)

Ani Apresyan, Roshini Ashrit, Zara Saleem, Alauren Lane
Nick Grijalva, Advisor

Music Video

While We’re Young, Cypress Bay High School (Suncoast Chapter)

Isabella Chiappini, Luis Rodriguez, Alexander Duque
Taiwo Cummings, Advisor

Fiction – Short Form

Free Time, Glenbrook South High School (Chicago/Midwest Chapter)

Omar Shoreibah, Tommy Casey, Noah Collins, Michael Cunningham, Josh Patt
Julie Benca, Advisor

Fiction – Long Form

Come Home, El Diamante High School (San Francisco/Northern California Chapter)

Avery Hazard, Kevin Lau, Noah Lillywhite, Kai Willey, Samuel Zurek
Ellie Hebert, Advisor

Sports Story or Segment

Mind, Body, Sport, Christopher Columbus High School (Suncoast Chapter)

Lucas Delgado, Lucas Figueroa, Juan Carlos Chaoui, Emanuel Naccarato, Ryan Santos
Omar Delgado, Christina Insua, Advisors

Sports Program

The Lincoln Sports Zone 2022, Gahanna Lincoln High School (Ohio Valley Chapter)

Drew Pizzico, Jillian Sanders, Lily Sager, Avery Hall, Olivia Doyle, Keegan Billingham,
Domiyon Jones, Katie Bailey, Toby Forsythe, Ryan Martinez, Dylan Scott, Liam O’Brien,
Juju Grubich, Maxwell Cummings, Brandon Carpico, Boden Anderson, Edmund Baker,
Jaylen Black, Jaylen Christmon, Jadyn Cohee, Colton Chrysler, Jaymi Curtis, Austin Elsken,
Orion James, Javon Lewis, Luke Murry, Brecken Parsons, Delaney Rossette, Madison Scott,
Max Shrader, Eli Smith, Aiden Young, Michael Zeitman

Mark Lowrie, Advisor

Live Sporting Event/Game

Cardinals Football vs Lapeer 10-22-21, Davison Schools (Michigan Chapter)

Ryan Riopelle, Trevor Cherney, Drew Younkin, Mason Polmanteer
Randall Scott, Advisor

Public Service Announcement (PSA)

Johnny, Franklin High School (San Francisco/Northern California Chapter)

Marcus Farrar
Brad Clark, Advisor


Sparkling Ice, Ravenwood High School (Nashville/Mid-South Chapter)

Olivia Freeman, Ella Ridlen
Megan Sanchez, Advisor

Animation/Graphics/Special Effects

Mixed, Christopher Columbus High School (Suncoast Chapter)

Andrew Ordieres
Rafael Diaz, Daniella Rodriguez, Advisors


Shawn Singh Reel, Whitney High School (San Francisco/Northern California Chapter)

Shawn Singh
Ben Barnholdt, Advisor


Come Home, El Diamante High School (San Francisco/Northern California Chapter)

Noah Lillywhite, Avery Hazard
Ellie Hebert, Advisor


Set of Three, Franklin High School (Nashville/Mid-South Chapter)

Graham Wynn, Director
Keri Thompson, Advisor


Composite, Glenbrook South High School (Chicago/Midwest Chapter)

Omar Shoreibah
Julie Benca, Advisor


Come Home, El Diamante High School (San Francisco/Northern California Chapter)

Kevin Lau Lau, Sam Zurek
Ellie Hebert, Advisor

Talent – News or Sports

Grant Johnson Talent Reel, Prosper-Rock Hill High School (Lone Star Chapter)

Grant Johnson
Margie Raper, Advisor

Talent – Performer

Ryan’s Ryan: College Special, Sunrise Mountain High School (Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter)

Ryan  Kraska
Amy Nygard, Advisor


The Elephant and Me, Seton Catholic Preparatory (Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter)

Audrey  Wood
Guillermo Vidaurri, Advisor