Skip to content

The Kid Mero hosts the 45th Sports Ceremony



Presenters To Include Noah Eagle (NBC Sports), Kaylee Hartung (Amazon), Mina Kimes (ESPN), Valeria Marin (Univision), Siera Santos (MLB Network) and Tracy Wolfson (CBS Sports)

Ceremony Includes Inductees to the 2024 Gold and Silver Circle 
Held at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall

Los Angeles / New York, May 13, 2024 – The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) has announced that award-winning comedian/author The Kid Mero is set to host the 45th Annual Sports Emmy® Awards on Tuesday, May 21. Presenting at the ceremony will be familiar names from the sports world, including Noah Eagle (NBC Sports), Kaylee Hartung (Amazon), Mina Kimes (ESPN), Valeria Marin (Univision), Siera Santos (MLB Network), and Tracy Wolfson (CBS Sports). Three-time Emmy Award-winning sports broadcaster James Brown will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award, presented to him by Sean McManus, former Chairman, CBS Sports. A group of professionals who have made significant and lasting contributions to sports television will be inducted that evening into the 2024 Gold and Silver Circle.

“Audiences have been entertained for years by The Kid Mero’s take on timely and provocative subjects,” said Adam Sharp, President & CEO, NATAS. “The ultimate sports fan with a cutting wit, we can’t wait to see what he has in store for the Sports Emmy audience.” 

About The Kid Mero: 

Hailing from the vibrant streets of the Bronx, The Kid Mero has emerged as an entertainment tour de force. His unapologetic wit, razor-sharp cultural commentary, and ability to comedically dissect life’s complexities have captivated audiences. Recognized by Variety as one of 10 Comics to Watch, by the New York Times as bestselling author of God-Level Knowledge Darts: Life Lessons from the Bronx, by the Writers Guild of America as Winner for Best Comedy/Variety Talk Series for Showtime’s Desus & Mero, as well as several nominations by the NAACP Image Awards and Critics’ Choice Awards, Mero’s impact is undeniable. After recently being selected as Chair Honoree by the Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute for his dedication to the Latino community, Mero is crafting his next literary work, a comedic exploration of parenting, while also developing the video version of his culturally resonant podcast, Victory Light. From hosting the profane and profound Victory Light podcast – where he wields humor as a powerful tool to dissect geopolitics and celebrity culture – to co-hosting with NBA legend Carmelo Anthony on 7pm in Brooklyn – where he curates captivating conversations for sports enthusiasts and casual fans alike – Mero’s fearless authenticity and uncompromising comedic prowess solidify his cultural icon status, inspiring a new generation of voices to emerge and shatter conventions. 

The Gold and Silver Circle Society honors individuals who have performed distinguished service within the television industry, setting standards for achievement, mentoring, leadership and professional accolades for 25 or 50 years. They represent the best and brightest in the industry.

Gold Circle – 2024 Sports Inductees:

  • Bob Stenner,Lead Producer, Fox Sports; CBS Sports
  • John Gilmartin, Coordinating Producer & Director, NBC Sports 

Silver Circle – 2024 Sports Inductees:

  • Drew Esocoff, Director, NBC Sports; ABC Sports
  • Fred Gaudelli, Producer & Executive Producer, NBC Sports, ABC Sports, ESPN
  • Pam Oliver, Reporter/Host, Fox Sports; Showtime; TNT; ESPN
  • David Roberts, Head of Events and Studio Production, ESPN
  • Renata Sedzimir, Senior Concept Artist & Senior Designer, ESPN
  • Jake Soto, Engineering Management, MLB Network; WPIX

# # # 

About the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a non-profit service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational, and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Awards for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime entertainment and Daytime Creative Arts programming as well as achievements in television Technology & Engineering. 

NATAS membership consists of nearly 18,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country. Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including regional student television and the National Student Production Awards for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public. NATAS is an equal opportunity employer. We celebrate the life experiences and diversity of our team, our members, and the vibrant community of creative professionals we serve.  For more information go to

Key Art courtesy NATAS – Downloadable Image Here