Skip to content



Nominees for the 39th Annual Sports Emmy Awards Announced


Barry Frank to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award 

Nominees to be Honored During the May 8th Ceremony
At Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall


New York, NY – March 28, 2018 – The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) today announced the nominees for the 39th Annual Sports Emmy® Awards.

“The world of sports television grows larger with each passing year and this year was no exception,” said Chuck Dages, Chairman, NATAS. “The 39th Sports Emmy Awards encompassed a record-setting number of entries across multiple categories and the level of quality continues to show the growth and seemingly, unlimited potential of what is available for the sports viewing audience.”

“This looks to be a wide-open competition this year,” said Steve Ulrich, Senior Vice President, Sports Emmy Awards. “There are newcomers in many categories, and coupled with content creator extraordinaire Barry Frank receiving the Sports Lifetime Achievement Award, it should be an exciting evening.”

Nominations were announced in 40 categories including Outstanding Live Sports Special, Live Sports Series and Playoff Coverage, three Documentary categories, Outstanding New Media, Outstanding Play-by-Play Announcer and Studio Host, among others.

Yangaroo, Inc. is the official provider of the Digital Media Distribution System Awards Management Solution (“DMDS”) for the submission, judging and voting of all categories for the 39th Annual Sports Emmy Awards. Accounting services for the competition are provided by the firm of Lutz & Carr, LLP. United Airlines is the official airline of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.


About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional, non-profit service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime, Daytime Creative Arts, Public & Community Service, and Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of over 16,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country.  Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including Regional Student Television and its Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public.

For Press information, please contact:  Paul Pillitteri, SVP, Communication/NATAS

Click here for the Sports Emmy Awards Facebook Page
Click here for the Sports Emmy Twitter Page

NATAS PR LA /Social Media Contacts:
B. Harlan Boll – 626-296-3757
Lisa England –