

WINNERS FOR 2024 NATIONAL STUDENT PRODUCTION AWARDS ANNOUNCED

NATIONAL ACADEMY OF TELEVISION ARTS & SCIENCES FOUNDATION

NEW YORK/LOS ANGELES, November 21, 2024 – Winners of the 9th annual National Student Production Awards were announced today during a ceremony presented by the Foundation of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS). The competition recognizes talented high school students from across the country for achievements in filmmaking and journalism.

"One day we will see our world reflected through the eyes and lenses of these motivated student journalists and storytellers, and it's an honor to celebrate the work they're already doing," said Adam Sharp, President and CEO of NATAS. "Encouraging students' pursuit of excellence is at the core of our Foundation's work. Thanks to the hardworking teachers, advisors and parents who support and shape the craft of these young people."

The National winners were selected from submissions previously recognized as winners in the NATAS Regional Chapter competitions.

"Our Foundation had the privilege of reviewing so much fantastic work from students across the nation, and all of these students should be proud of the work they've accomplished," said Doug Mummert, NATAS Foundation Chair. "This year's submissions provided a glimpse into the communities and lives of today's young craftspeople, producers, directors, and more, and if these fantastic nominees are an indication, tomorrow's media is in good hands."

The ceremony was hosted by Noah Eagle, a commentator on NBC Sports and the recipient of the 2024 Sports Emmy[®] Award for Outstanding Personality/Emerging On-Air Talent. Celebrity presenters included Buddy Valastro, host of "Legends of the Fork" on A&E Network and recipient of 2024 Daytime Emmy[®] Award for Outstanding Culinary Host; Tabitha Brown, host of "Tab Time" on YouTube and recipient of the 2023 Children's and Family Emmy[®] Award for Outstanding Host; Nada Bashir, CNN journalist and recipient of the 2024 News & Documentary Emmy[®] Award for Outstanding Emerging Journalist; Joe Fryer, NBC News; Siera Santos, MLB Network; Harlem Globetrotters' Cherelle "Torch" George and Lucius "Too Tall" Winston; and content creator Benjamin De Almeida.

The full list of winners can be viewed below as well as on the NATAS website.

About NATAS

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational, and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy[®] Awards for News & Documentary, Sports, and Daytime television programming, as well as achievements in television Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of more than 18,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the United States Beyond awards, NATAS provides extensive educational programs through its Foundation, including regional and national scholarships and Student Production Awards.

NATAS PRESS CONTACTS

SMITHHOUSE for NATAS – <u>NATAS@smithhousestrategy.com</u> Press LA - Harlan Boll, <u>harlan@bhbpr.com</u>

NATAS EDUCATION CHAIR

Danielle Mannion, studentawards@emmyonline.tv

450 Park Ave. S. - 3rd Fl. New York, NY 10016 212.586.8424 **TheEmmys.tv**

2024 National Student Production Awards Winners

Newscast

CPTV News QuickCUT, Crown Point High School (Chicago/Midwest Chapter)

Ryan Welsh, MiRey Fernandez, Amelia Schumacher, Ariana Pantoja, Kailey Palomo *Brent Barber, Chris Gloff, Advisors*

News Report - Serious News

HB-49 Affecting Teenagers' Academics, Christopher Columbus High School (Suncoast Chapter) Carlos Soto-Angulo, Andrew Ahrendt, Gabe Fraga, Aidan Galan, Matthew Quesada, Jason Fernandez *Omar Delgado, Christina Insua, Advisors*

News Report - Light News

Jurassic Genius: Celebrating Difference at Columbus, Christopher Columbus High School (Suncoast Chapter) Andrew Ahrendt, Carlos Soto-Angulo, Nicholas Dovales, Matthew Quesada, Gabe Fraga, Jason Fernandez, Juan Pablo Piña *Omar Delgado, Christina Insua, Advisors*

Multimedia Journalist (MMJ) or Video Essay

What Next?, Fairhaven Public Schools (Boston/New England Chapter) Adam Marashio *Michael Fernandes, Advisor*

Non-Fiction - Short Form

Time to Wakeup, Riverside Brookfield High School (Chicago/Midwest Chapter) Makayla Angshed *Matthew Holdren, Advisor*

Non-Fiction - Long Form

I'm Fine, Liberty High School PSBN (Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter) Ethan Sinconis, Aidan Sinconis *Kenyon Ozanne, Advisor*

Public Affairs/Community Service

Dealing with Cancer, Deerfield High School (Chicago/Midwest Chapter) Micah Wolkenberg, Nathan Lee, William Love, Chloe Wollheim Brett Schwartz, Advisor

Arts/Entertainment/Cultural Affairs

Amana, Tamalpais High School (San Francisco/Northern California Chapter) Mason Le, Kai Smith, Niki Wallin, Julian Goodman Sharilyn Scharf, Advisor

Magazine Program or Lifestyle Content

Best of Aftershock, Cypress Bay High School (Suncoast Chapter)

Andrew Dunham, Mya Wolf, Samantha Duarte, Tailyn Cummings, Luisa Hernandez, Nicole Pineros, Mariana Sanin, Maria Ojeda, Bryan Bomfim, Ava Pounder, Samantha Rosenzweig, Brady Shea, Tad Bochenski, Sebastian Garcia *Taiwo Cummings, Advisor*

Music Video

Walking on Sunshine, Maine South High School (Chicago/Midwest Chapter) Nicole Scimeca Mason Strom, Advisor

Fiction - Short Form or Long Form

Inside, Maine South High School (Chicago/Midwest Chapter) Nicole Scimeca, Dylan Sarsany Mason Strom, Advisor

Sports Story or Segment

22 Games, Franklin High School (Nashville/Mid-South Chapter) Anna Raye Jones Keri Thompson, Advisor

Sports Program

Red Devil Postgame, Germantown High School (Nashville/Mid-South Chapter) Kadin Bolton, Christian Maya, Malaya Adams, Marcus McClain, Erin Fitzgerald, Tyler Curry

Leonid Mazor, Advisor

Live Sporting Event/Game

Sterling High School Basketball, Sterling High School (Mid-Atlantic Chapter) Ben Nicholas, Jake Clark, Brian McLernon, Connor Strauss, Dan Leakan, Matt Strader, Jonathan Orleno, Karena Justice, Owen Sullivan, Jensen Gould Tadd Kozeniewski, Advisor

Public Service Announcement (PSA)

Music is My Drug, Maine South High School (Chicago/Midwest Chapter) Nicole Scimeca Mason Strom, Advisor

<u>Commercial</u>

Stickers!, Brentwood High School (Nashville/Mid-South Chapter) Michael Gorokhovsky, David Ward Sloan Ashworth, Advisor

Animation/Graphics/Special Effects

Some Things Never Change, Rochester Adams High School (Michigan Chapter) Oliver Mutart *Amy Limon, Advisor*

Audio/Sound

Left Behind, Verrado High School (Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter) Rio Brown Mike Walker, Advisor

Director

Sunflower, Taunton High School (Boston/New England Chapter) Aiden Mendes Steven Jacques, Advisor

Editor

Composite Reel 2023-24, Maine South High School (Chicago/Midwest Chapter) Nicole Scimeca Mason Strom, Advisor

Photographer

The Bird, Batavia High School (Chicago/Midwest Chapter) Ryan Anderson Jennifer Carpenter, Advisor

Talent - News or Sports

Anchor Reel, Christopher Columbus High School (Suncoast Chapter) Andrew Ahrendt *Omar Delgado, Christina Insua, Advisors*

Talent - Performer

Soup, Verrado High School (Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter) Lauren Fugitt *Mike Walker, Advisor*

<u>Writer</u>

I'm Fine, Liberty High School PSBN (Rocky Mountain Southwest Chapter) Aidan Sinconis Kenyon Ozanne, Advisor

####