Skip to content

The 43rd Annual News & Documentary Nominations



Honorees in 64 Categories to be Presented
In Two Ceremonies on September 28th & 29th

NEW YORK (July 28, 2022; Revised 11.14.22) – Nominations for the 43rd Annual News and Documentary Emmy® Awards were announced today by The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS).

The awards will be presented in two individual ceremonies:

News Categories – Wednesday, September 28th, 2022 at 7:30 p.m. EDT

Documentary Categories – Thursday, September 29th, 2022 at 7:30 p.m. EDT

The News & Documentary Emmy Awards will be presented live at the Palladium Times Square in New York City, and will be streamed live on NATAS’ dedicated viewing platform powered by Vimeo, available on the web at Watch.TheEmmys.TV and via The Emmys® apps for iOS, tvOS, Android, FireTV, and Roku (full list at

“At a time when critical, monumental, and world-changing events are more immediately available and accessible than ever before, the work of the journalists and documentarians that bring us the truth of these stories is under tremendous assault. We honor these individuals’ courage and excellence of craft that allows each of us to be better informed and understanding of the issues of our day,” said Adam Sharp, NATAS President & CEO.

In addition to celebrating this year’s nominees in 64 categories, the National Academy is proud to honor two giants in the news/documentary world with Lifetime Achievement Awards:

Judy Woodruff, anchor and managing editor, PBS NewsHour for news. She has covered politics and other news for five decades at NBC, CNN and PBS.

Sir David Attenborough, biologist, humanist and filmmaker for documentary.  He is one of the world’s leading natural history filmmakers, making many landmark series including Life on Earth, The Blue Planet and Planet Earth.

The 43rd Annual News & Documentary Emmy® Awards honor programming content from more than 2500 submissions that originally premiered in calendar-year 2021, judged by a pool of over 800 peer professionals from across the television and streaming/digital media News & Documentary industry.

The complete list of nominees is also available on the National Television Academy’s website:

All voting was tabulated by the accounting firm of Lutz & Carr, LLP.



Paul Pillitteri

B. Harlan Boll


The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational, and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Awards for News & Documentary, Sports, and Daytime television programming, as well as achievements in television Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of more than 18,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the United States. Beyond awards, NATAS provides extensive educational programs through its foundation, including regional and national scholarships and Student Production Awards.