Skip to content

40th News & Documentary Emmy Award Winners



Presented at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall

New York, N.Y. – September 24, 2019 (revised 11.18.19) – The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences announced tonight the winners of the 40th Annual News & Documentary Emmy® Awards. The awards were presented at Lincoln Center’s Alice Tully Hall in New York City and honored both national and international nominees in more than 50 categories. Andrea Mitchell, NBC News’ chief foreign affairs correspondent and host of MSNBC’s “Andrea Mitchell Reports,” was honored for her ground-breaking career with the Lifetime Achievement Award. 

“Tonight, we honor the news and documentary industry and the men and women who bring us the truth: the story of the world we live in, year by year and day to day,” said Terry O’Reilly, Chairman, NATAS.  “It is their commitment to telling the stories of our times – with accuracy and integrity – that we celebrate tonight.”

“In addition to our esteemed nominees, tonight we celebrate the remarkable career of correspondent and political analyst Andrea Mitchell”, said Adam Sharp, President & CEO, NATAS. “For more than 50 years, she has illuminated Americans’ understanding of domestic politics and international affairs, building esteem and trust with colleagues, world leaders, and most importantly, the viewers she informs.”

The evening also included a special segment recognizing the anniversary of the Apollo 11 lunar landing as a milestone in television news bringing the space program to the world. The segment included honoring nominees in two categories for science and technology programming. The nominations were announced by astronauts circling the globe on the International Space Station, and the winners were announced here on Earth, live at the event by NASA Astronaut, Andrew Feustel.

A detailed listing of all awardees is below as compiled by the independent accountancy firm of Lutz and Carr, LLP. A list of winners for the 40th News & Documentary Emmy Awards is also available on the National Television Academy’s website at

For Official News & Documentary Emmy Awards photography, visit:

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional, non-profit service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment, Public & Community Service, and Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of over 17,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country.  Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including Regional Student Television and its Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public. For more information, please visit the website at  

The Emmys on the Web:
Facebook –
Twitter –

NATAS Press Contact:
Paul G. Pillitteri
SVP, Communications

NATAS PR LA/Social Media Contacts:
Harlan Boll / 626-296-3757

The numerical breakdown by award recipients, by broadcast, cable and broadband entities, as compiled by the independent accountancy firm of Lutz & Carr LLP, follows:

HBO 10   CNN International 1
PBS 9   Great Big Story 1
CBS 6   Hulu 1
CNN 3   NBC 1
National Geographic 2   them / Condé Nast Entertainment 1
Telemundo 2   The Weather Channel 1
The New York Times 2   The Weather Channel Digital and   Telemundo with Efran Films 1
Univision 2   Vox 1
ABC 1   World Channel 1
Al Jazeera International USA 1      

Regional Reporting Winners

*Honorees in the regional reporting categories receive crystal pillars rather than Emmy statues. Awards presented in these categories are not Emmy awards, but rather a form of special national recognition given to outstanding regional news reports.

KING-TV 1      
WXIA-TV 1