Skip to content

44th News Night Emmy Winners


Wolf Blitzer of CNN honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award

(NEW YORK) SEPTEMBER 27, 2023 – Winners of the News categories of the 44th Annual News and Documentary Emmy® Awards were announced today by The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS). The awards were presented at the Palladium Times Square in New York City.

Wolf Blitzer, anchor of CNN’s The Situation Room with Wolf Blitzer, was honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award for his 50-year career in journalism, including 33 years at CNN. The award was presented by Sam Feist, CNN Washington Bureau Chief and Senior Vice President.

The News & Documentary Emmy® Awards are presented as two individual ceremonies: categories honoring Television News Programming were presented tonight; categories honoring Documentaries will be presented tomorrow, Thursday, September 28th. Both tonight’s and tomorrow’s ceremony are live-streamed at 7:30 p.m. EDT / 4:30 p.m. PDT on our dedicated platform, Watch.TheEmmys.TV powered by Vimeo.

“This year’s News Emmy honorees are a testament to the health and vitality of the broadcast journalism profession,” said Terry O’Reilly, Chairman, NATAS. “Tonight’s winning reports shine a light on events of critical importance to a global audience while adhering to the highest standards of the craft of journalism. There has never been a time when the need for fact-based, objective journalism is more pressing, and we congratulate tonight’s winners for their achievement.”

“In addition to celebrating the remarkable achievements of tonight’s Emmy winners, the Academy is pleased to honor Wolf Blitzer with our prestigious Emmy® Award for Lifetime Achievement,” said Adam Sharp, NATAS CEO & President. “Wolf is a consummate professional who has been at the front lines of CNN’s coverage of every major event ‘happening now’ over the last thirty years. We also are thrilled to congratulate our inaugural class of national news Gold and Silver Circle honorees for their service to our industry and their countless hours of mentorship and support for the next generation.”

The inaugural class of national Gold and Silver Circle honorees for news was inducted tonight. The Gold and Silver Circle is a society honoring members of the television and wider broadcasting community who have made an enduring contribution to the industry. Gold Circle and Silver members have a tenure of 50 and 25 years in the broadcasting profession respectively.


  • David Martin, National Security Correspondent, CBS News
  • John Quiñones, ABC News Correspondent, “20/20,” “Nightline” and “Good Morning America,” Host, “What Would You Do,” ABC News
  • Dan Rather, Anchor, Journalist, Founder, News and Guts


  • Steve Fastook, Senior Vice President of Operations, CNBC
  • Kim Godwin, President, ABC News
  • Rand Morrison, Executive Producer, CBS News Sunday Morning, CBS News
  • Steve Osunsami, Senior National Correspondent, ABC News
  • Otto Padron, President & CEO, Meruelo Media
  • Thomas Snowden, Editor, NBC News

Tonight’s News ceremony was hosted by a group of news industry leaders introducing different segments of the show. The group included:

  • Yousur Al-Hlou, Video Journalist, New York Times
  • Ellison Barber, Correspondent, NBC News
  • Norah O'Donnell, Anchor and Managing Editor, "CBS Evening News”
  • Fred Cohen, Chairman, The International Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
  • John Quiñones, Correspondent, “20/20,” “Nightline” and “Good Morning America,” Host, “What Would You Do,” ABC News
  • Johana Suárez, Anchor and Correspondent, Telemundo News
  • Pedro Ultreras, Journalist, Univision
  • Clarissa Ward, Chief International Correspondent, CNN

The 44th Annual News & Documentary Emmy® Awards honor programming content from more than 2300 submissions that originally premiered in calendar-year 2022, judged by a pool of over 1000 peer professionals from across the television and streaming/digital media News & Documentary industry.

The 44th Annual News & Documentary Emmy® Awards was produced by NATAS with Lisa Armstrong and Adam Sharp, Executive Producers, and David Winn and Christine Chin, News & Documentary Administration. Tonight’s program was Directed by John D’Incecco.

All programming is available on the web at Watch.TheEmmys.TV and via The Emmys® apps for iOS, tvOS, Android, FireTV, Roku, and Samsung Smart TV (full list at

The complete list of winners is also available on the National Television Academy's website:

All voting was tabulated by the accounting firm of Lutz & Carr, LLP.




B. Harlan Boll, NATAS PR


The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational, and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Awards for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime and Daytime Creative Arts programming, as well as achievements in television Technology & Engineering.

NATAS membership consists of more than 18,000+ broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country. Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including regional student television and its Student Award for Excellence and the National Student Production Awards for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public.

For more information, please visit the website at