Skip to content

Host & Presenters for The 42nd Annual News & Documentary Emmy Awards


Wolf Blitzer, Norah O’Donnell and many other distinguished News Professionals to Anchor First of Two Ceremonies

Carlos Watson to Host The Documentary Ceremony  

NEW YORK, SEPTEMBER 22, 2021 – The hosts and presenters for the 42nd Annual News and Documentary Emmy® Awards were announced today by The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS).  The News & Documentary Emmy® Awards will be presented as two individual ceremonies: categories honoring Television News Programming will be presented on Tuesday, September 28th; categories honoring Documentaries will be presented the following evening, Wednesday, September 29th.  Both ceremonies will be live-streamed at 8 p.m. EDT / 5 p.m. PDT on our dedicated platform, Watch.TheEmmys.TV powered by Vimeo.

The News Ceremony on Tuesday, September 28th will be hosted by a group of news industry leaders introducing different segments of the show.  The group includes:

  • WOLF BLITZER – Anchor, CNN, The Situation Room
  • JONATHAN CAPEHART – Host, MSNBC’s The Sunday Show
  • JUJU CHANG – Co-Anchor, ABC News, Nightline
  • NORAH O’DONNELL – Anchor & Managing Editor, CBS Evening News      
  • TERESA RODRIQUEZ – Anchor, Univision News
  • ALZO SLADE – News Correspondent, VICE
  • STEPHANIE SY – Anchor, PBS NewsHour West
  • JULIO VAQUEIRO – Anchor, Telemundo, Noticias

The Documentary Ceremony on Wednesday, September 29th will be hosted by the Emmy® Award winning CARLOS WATSON, the host of his own The Carlos Watson Show and CEO of OZY. “I’m so honored to celebrate the tremendous achievements of these important story-tellers,” remarked Carlos Watson. “We’re in a landscape where documentary content is more essential than it’s ever been and I’m looking forward to hosting what I’m sure will be a must-see show.”

Carlos Watson has graciously reached out to us and asked to be removed from his hosting duties tomorrow night so as not to distract the focus from the talented nominees in the documentary categories of the 42nd News & Documentary Emmy(r) Awards.  As such, we are moving forward with our three presenters who will be sharing the hosting duties throughout the evening.

  • JUNE CROSS – Documentary Filmmaker & Columbia Journalism School Professor
  • CJ HUNT – Documentary Filmmaker, The Neutral Ground
  • SONJA SOHN – Documentary Filmmaker, The Slow Hustle / Actress, Body of Proof and HBO’s The Wire.

All programming is available on the web at Watch.TheEmmys.TV and via The Emmys® apps for iOS, tvOS, Android, FireTV, Roku and more. (full list at

The 42nd  Annual News & Documentary Emmy® Awards honors programming content from more than 2200 submissions that originally premiered in calendar-year 2020, judged by a pool of 950 peer professionals from across the television and streaming/digital media News & Documentary industry.

Carlos Watson

Carlos Watson is the co-founder and CEO of OZY, a multi-platform media company that aims to help curious people see a broader and bolder world. As an interviewer, Watson has earned praise for his ability to get high-profile guests to open up about a wide range of topics on camera. Throughout his career he has interviewed everyone from world leaders (such as George W. Bush, Barack Obama and Tony Blair) and leading politicos (such as Condoleezza Rice and Hillary Clinton) to business leaders (such as Bill Gates and Mark Cuban), public intellectuals (Ta-Nehisi Coates and Malcolm Gladwell) and figures from sports and popular culture (including Alex Rodriguez, Naomi Campbell and John Legend). To find out more about Carlos Watson go to:


The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational, and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Awards for News & Documentary, Sports, and Daytime television programming, as well as achievements in television Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of more than 18,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the United States Beyond awards, NATAS provides extensive educational programs through its Foundation, including regional and national scholarships and Student Production Awards.

Paul Pillitteri                                        

Harlan Boll