Skip to content

41st Annual Sports Emmy® Awards Nominations

The 38th Annual Sports Emmy Awards; 05/09/17    ___Please contact Us at the above link or by phone to order high resolution color corrected digital files of these images.___ Images are © Marc Bryan-Brown 2017 and may not be downloaded without written permission. Many thanks and congratulations.


Lesley Visser to Receive Lifetime Achievement Award

Nominees to be Honored During a Rescheduled Ceremony/Date To Be Determined

The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) today announced the nominees for the 41st Annual Sports Emmy® Awards. The ceremony was originally scheduled for April 28th, 2020 at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall and was postponed until later this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“Today we honor the talented professionals who through their work and creativity inform and entertain the passionate fanbase that makes up the sports universe.” said Adam Sharp, President & CEO, NATAS. “The diverse set of nominees is nothing short of inspiring.”

“We look forward to celebrating our community and the wide range of outstanding achievement across all facets of our industry.” said Justine Gubar, Executive Director, Sports Emmy Awards. “Despite the uncertainty, we are optimistic about holding the ceremony at a rescheduled date in the fall so that we can come together in good health and honor the absolute best in sports coverage as well as our groundbreaking Lifetime Achievement Honoree, Lesley Visser.”

Nominations were announced in 42 categories including Outstanding Live Sports Special, Live Sports Series and Playoff Coverage, three Documentary categories, Outstanding Play-by-Play Announcer and Studio Host, among others. This year’s competition marks the debut of a new category for Outstanding Esports Coverage.

Accounting services for the competition are provided by the firm of Lutz & Carr, LLP.


About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational, and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Awards for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime and Daytime Creative Arts programming, as well as achievements in television Technology & Engineering.

NATAS membership consists of more than 17,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country. Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including regional student television and its Student Award for Excellence and the National Student Production Awards for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public.

For press information, please contact:

        B. Harlan Boll  626-296-3757

Click here for the Sports Emmy Awards Facebook Page

Click here for the Sports Emmy Twitter Page