Skip to content


About The Sports Emmy® Awards

The Sports Emmy® Awards honor outstanding achievement in sports programming by conferring annual awards of merit in various categories.  As the premier standard-bearer for industry accomplishments, the presentation of these awards is intended to be an incentive for the continued pursuit of excellence.  The competition aspires to drive industry relevance and promote inclusivity across the sports community.  The first Emmy for Best Sports Coverage was presented in 1949.  The Sports Emmy Awards have taken place annually in a stand-alone ceremony since 1979.

In December of each year, a call for entries is published.  The competition is open to sports content created for any national sports platform.  More than 45 categories recognize achievement in live sports coverage, edited and documentary sports programming, personality, technical and craft contributions, and Spanish language content.

The final deadline for entries usually falls in the beginning of February.  Please check the Call for Entries, which will be posted here when released, for category and deadline requirements.

For the majority of categories, entries are screened in February and March in a single round of at-home online ‘blue ribbon’ judging. Blue Ribbon panels are comprised of peer professionals who have a credited body of work at the national level.

Each judge casts a secret ballot.  Judges’ votes are not shared with other judges or with members or NATAS staff. They are sent to an accounting firm for tabulation.

The nominees are announced in the spring, and posted on the NATAS website at

Winners will be revealed at a ceremony to be held in May.  As part of the ceremony, the Jim McKay scholarship is awarded to a student pursuing a career in sports production. The Jim McKay Memorial Scholarship honors sportscaster Jim McKay (1921-2008) and was established in 2009 by the HBO, CBS, NBC, ABC/ESPN and FOX networks.

NATAS Biography Portrai

Steve Head

Director, Sports Emmy Awards