Skip to content

The 43rd Annual Sports Emmy® Award Winners



First “In-Person” Ceremony in 3 Years Highlights Lesley Visser
First Woman to be Honored with Sports Lifetime Achievement Award

New York, NY – May 24th, 2022 ‐ The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS) announced tonight the winners of the 43rd Annual Sports Emmy® Awards. which were live‐ streamed at Watch.TheEmmys.TV and available on the various Emmy® apps for iOS, tvOS, Android, FireTV, and Roku (full list at

The live‐in‐person, live‐streamed presentation was filled with a star‐studded group of sports television personalities as presenters such as Cristina Alexander, On‐Air Talent (ESPN/ESPN Deportes), Nate Burleson, Host and Analyst (CBS/Nickelodeon), Andrés Cantor, Commentator (Telemundo), Dominique Dawes, Executive Producer and Olympian (NBC), Lauren Gardner, Studio Host (MLB Network), Bomani Jones, Studio Host (HBO), Adriana Monsalve, Host (Univision/TUDN), Tom Rinaldi, Reporter (FOX), Taylor Rooks, Studio Host (Turner Sports), Holly Rowe, Reporter (ESPN), Mike Tirico, Studio Host (NBC), Tracy Wolfson, On‐Air Talent (CBS) plus other luminaries from the sports world.

Trailblazing sports journalist Lesley Visser was honored tonight with the prestigious Sports Lifetime Achievement. Visser, who is enshrined in six different halls of fame, is the most highly acclaimed female sportscaster of all time. She is the only sportscaster, male or female, to have worked on the network broadcasts of the Final Four, the Super Bowl, the NBA Finals, the Olympics, the World Series, the Triple Crown, the World Figure Skating Championship and the US Open Tennis Championship.

In addition, after helping launch the Coca‐Cola HBCU Sports Production Grant last year, ESPN Sports Anchor Elle Duncan returned to help Henry Hendrix, Coca‐Cola’s Senior Vice President of Multicultural Marketing, announce the winner of the $40,000 grant ‐ Delaware State University’s “Once a Hornet. Always a Hornet… The Past, Present and Future of Delaware State University Football.” Gwenna Gentla, class of ‘23 accepted on behalf of the student production team which also included Nia Pope, Isaiah Williams, Chelsea Abrams, Michelle Crockett, Carlos Vasquez and advisors Dr. Renee’ Marine and Zachary Kimball.

The other finalists for this year’s grant were “Florida A&M Defeats Bethune Cookman in Florida Classic Micro‐Movie,” Florida A&M; “Emergence,” Hampton University; “Aggies Roll,” North Carolina Agricultural & Technical State University; and “HBCU Legacy: The Ingred Wicker‐McCree Story,” North Carolina Central University.

Winners were announced in 47 categories including Outstanding Live Sports Special, Live Sports Series and Playoff Coverage, four Documentary categories, Esports Championship Coverage, Outstanding Play‐by‐Play Announcer, Studio Host, and Outstanding Personality/Emerging Talent among others.

Tonight’s program and many other Emmy® Award programs are available for viewing at any time on our OTT platform Watch.TheEmmys.TV sponsored by Vimeo.

Accounting services for the competition are provided by the firm of Lutz & Carr, LLP.


About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational, and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Awards for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime and Daytime Creative Arts programming, as well as achievements in television Technology & Engineering.

NATAS membership consists of more than 18,000+ broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country. Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including regional student television and its Student Award for Excellence and the National Student Production Awards for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public.

For more information, please visit the website at

For press information, please contact:

For press information, please contact:
David Cooper –

Paul Pillitteri –

Click here for the Sports Emmy Awards Facebook Page
Click here for the Sports Emmy Twitter Page

View the Winners by Category

View the Full Press Release