Skip to content



39th Annual Sports Emmy Awards Winners Announced


Barry Frank Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

NATAS Chairman’s Award Bestowed Honoring Response to Disaster Relief Effort

New York, NY – May 8, 2018 – The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS), announced the winners of the 39th Annual Sports Emmy® Awards at a special ceremony at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick P. Rose Hall in New York City.

See the full list of winners here.

Click here to download the full press release.

“Tonight we celebrate the sports broadcasting industry, some of the most exciting, skillful, and entertaining television anywhere,” said Chuck Dages, Chairman, NATAS. “In addition to celebrating the outstanding work by this evening’s nominees, we are pleased to honor Barry Frank for his long and prolific career and present him with the Sports Lifetime Achievement Award.”

In addition, the Chairman’s Award was bestowed upon an alliance of Sports industry networks led by Univison Deportes that raised funds to support the American Red Cross relief efforts after a string of natural disasters hit Texas, Florida, Puerto Rico and Mexico in 2017. Univision Deportes came up with “Unidos Por Los Nuestros” (United For Each Other), where in two days in September, Azteca America, beIN Sports, ESPN, and FOX Sports came together with Univision Deportes to bring shows and Liga MX games across all platforms, on every one of these networks; a first for the sports media industry. Talent from across the networks, alongside some of their producers, came to the Univision Deportes studios to partake in the effort.

Some of the presenters at the 39th Sports Emmy Awards included, Ernie Johnson (Turner), Gary Danielson and Brad Nessler (CBS Sports), Rece Davis, (ESPN), Alexi Lalas (FOX Sports), reigning Daytona 500 Champion Austin Dillon (NASCAR), Harold Reynolds, Al Leiter and Tom Verducci (MLB Network), Leigh Diffey (NBC’s IndyCar Play-By-Play Announcer), former World Middleweight Champion, Daniel Jacobs (HBO), Melissa Stark (NFL Network), and Brian Custer (SHOWTIME).

Winners were announced in 40 categories including Outstanding Live Sports Special, Live Sports Series and Playoff Coverage, three Documentary categories, Outstanding New Media, Outstanding Play-by-Play Announcer and Studio Host, among others. The awards recognize outstanding achievement by individuals and programs broadcast throughout the 2017 calendar year.

Yangaroo, Inc. is the official provider of the Digital Media Distribution System Awards Management Solution (“DMDS”) for the submission, judging and voting of all categories for the 39th Annual Sports Emmy Awards.

A detailed listing of all awards is below as compiled by the independent accountancy firm of Lutz and Carr, LLP. A list of winners for the 39th Annual Sports Emmy Awards is also available on the National Television Academy’s website at

For Official Sports Emmy Awards photography, visit:

United Airlines is the official airline of The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences.


About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional, non-profit service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment, Public & Community Service, and Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of over 16,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country. Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including Regional Student Television and its Student Award for

Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public. For more information, please visit the website at

Sports Emmy ® Awards – Facebook
Sports Emmy ® Awards Twitter

NATAS Press Contact:
Paul G. Pillitteri, SVP, Communications-

NATAS PR LA /Social Media Contacts:
Harlan Boll – 626-296-3757
Lisa England –


The 39thAnnual Sports Emmy Award by Network

Network                                                                                       Winners

FS1 3
MLB Network 3
ESPN2                                2
ESPN Deportes 1
ESPNews 1
Golf Channel 1
NBCSN                              1 1
NFL Network 1
Showtime 1 1
Telemundo 1
Twitch TV 1
Univision 1
Univision Deportes 1
Verizon 1
WatchESPN 1
YouTube 1


The 39thAnnual Sports Emmy Award by Network Group

Network Group                                                                                                            Winners

(ESPN, ESPN2, ESPN Deportes, ESPNews, WatchESPN, ABC)
CBS   8
FOX Sports Media Group (FOX, FS1) 6
NBC Sports Group  (NBC, NBCSN, Golf Channel, Telemundo) 6


MLB Network   3
HBO Sports   2
NFL Network   1
Showtime Sports   1 (, LifeVR) 1
Turner Sports ( 1
Twitch TV   1
Univision (Univision, Univision Deportes) 1
Verizon   1
YouTube   1



The 39thAnnual Sports Emmy Award by Multiple Winners

Program                                             Winners                                    Network                 

AFC Championship 5 CBS 
The 118th Army-Navy Game 3 CBS
College GameDay 3 ESPN
E:60 2 ESPN2