Skip to content

Sports Emmy Award Winners Announced

SEXL Print Logo - No Glow_crop


Dick Vitale Receives Lifetime Achievement Award

New York, NY – May 20th, 2019 – The National Academy of Television Arts
and Sciences (NATAS), announced the winners of the 40th Annual Sports
Emmy® Awards at a special ceremony at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Frederick
P. Rose Hall in New York City.

“Every day, the sports broadcasting industry brings the American public
some of the most exciting, skillful, and entertaining television anywhere,”
said Terry O’Reilly, Chairman, NATAS. “In addition to celebrating the
outstanding work by this evening’s nominees, we are pleased to honor Dick
Vitale for his long and prolific career and present him with our Lifetime
Achievement Award for Sports.”

Presenters at the 40th Sports Emmy Awards included, Andrea Kremer and
Hannah Storm (Amazon), Ian Eagle and Bill Raferty (CBS Sports), Scott
Van Pelt (ESPN), Alex Rodriguez and Michael Strahan (FOX Sports), Jon
Frankel (HBO), Brian Kenny and Ken Rosenthal (MLB Network), Mike
Tirico (NBC), Kay Adams (NFL Network), Deontay Wilder (SHOWTIME),
and Ernie Johnson (Turner).

Winners were announced in 41 categories including Outstanding Live
Sports Special, Live Sports Series and Playoff Coverage, three Documentary
categories, Outstanding New Media, Outstanding Play-by-Play Announcer
and Studio Host, among others. The awards recognize outstanding
achievement by individuals and programs broadcast throughout the 2018
calendar year.

A detailed listing of all awardees is below as compiled by the independent
accountancy firm of Lutz and Carr, LLP. A list of winners for the 40th
Annual Sports Emmy Awards is also available on the National Television
Academy’s website at

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a
professional, non-profit service organization dedicated to the advancement
of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative
leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the
television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted
Emmy Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment,
Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment, Public & Community Service, and
Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of over 16,000
broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters
across the country. Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational
programs including Regional Student Television and its Student Award for
Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as
well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry
professionals and the viewing public. For more information, please visit
the website at

Sports Emmy ® Awards – Facebook
Sports Emmy ® Awards – Twitter

NATAS Press Contact:
Paul G. Pillitteri, SVP, Communications –

NATAS PR LA /Social Media Contacts:
B. Harlan Boll – 626-296-3757