Skip to content

63rd Award Recipients



New York, NY – September 8th, 2011 — The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) announced the recipients of the 63rd Annual Technology & Engineering  Emmy® Awards that will take place on Thursday, January 12th, 2012 as part of the 2012 International Consumer Electronics Show (CES) in Las Vegas.  This event marks the sixth consecutive year that the Technology and Engineering Emmy® Awards have been presented in conjunction with CES.  The presentation will take place at The Venetian Resort Hotel & Casino beginning at 6:30 p.m.

“The National Academy’s Engineering Achievement Committee is pleased to honor these technology companies who have set the standard for much of what we do in broadcast television and to those that continue to broaden what is possible in bringing home to the viewer the best that television has to offer,” said incoming committee Chairman, Robert P. Seidel, Vice President of CBS Engineering and Advanced Technology.  This is Seidel’s first year at the helm of the committee which has been guided for more than twenty years by Charles H. Jablonski, Vice President, Online, Inc., who remains as Chairman, Emeritus.
The individuals and companies that will be honored at the event include:

Local Cable Ad Insertion Technology – Cable Digital Standards for Local Cable Advertising

  • SCTE

The System for Automated Migration of Media Assets

  • Samma

Pioneering Development of Large-Venue, Large-Screen Direct View Color Video Displays

  • Mitsubishi Electric Power Products, Inc. – Diamond Vision Systems
  • Shuji Nakamura, Professor, University of California – Santa Barbara

Pioneering Development and Deployment of Active Format Description Technology and System

  • ATSC
  • DTG – Digital TV Group
  • DVB
  • NBC Universal
  • Ericsson
  • Miranda Technologies
  • CEA

Development of Integrated, Deployable Systems for Live Reporting from Remote Environments

  • David Bloom
  • NBC
  • MTN Satellite Communications

Standardization of Loudness Metering for Use in Broadcast Audio

  • ITU-R Study Group 6
  • International Telecommunication Union (ITU)
  • Dolby Laboratories, Inc.
  • Communications Research Centre
  • Dr. Gilbert Soulodre
  • Craig Todd

Development of Professional Tapeless Portable Acquisition Systems Using Affordable Media

  • Sony Professional Solutions of America

Pioneering Development of Removable Solid State Media for Video Camera/Recorders (Camcorders)

  • Panasonic

Launched in 1948, The Technology and Engineering Emmy® Awards honor development and innovation in broadcast technology and recognize companies, organizations and individuals for breakthroughs in technology that have a significant effect on television engineering.

Robert P. Seidel
Robert Seidel graduated from Lehigh University with a Bachelor of Science in Electrical Engineering. After graduation, Bob worked for the United States Department of Defense in Electronic Countermeasures and joined CBS Engineering as a Design Engineer in 1976.

In 1989, Bob was promoted to Vice President, Television Engineering during which time he directed the design and installation of the CBS Broadcast Origination Center.

Bob headed up the engineering team that made broadcasting history when WRAL-HD, the CBS affiliate in Raleigh, NC, became the first television station to transmit HDTV on July 23, 1996.

Bob is currently Vice President of CBS Engineering and Advanced Technology.  He is responsible for the HDTV/DTV transition for the CBS Television Network and CW Television Network.

In 1993, Bob received an Emmy from the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences for his pioneering work in portable satellite uplink systems used for worldwide newsgathering.

Bob is the VP Finance for the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers (SMPTE) and a member of the Institute of Electronics and Electrical Engineers (IEEE).

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment, Public & Community Service, and Technology & Engineering. Regional Emmy® Awards are given in 19 regions across the United States. NATAS also presents the Global Media Awards™ which recognizes excellence in the world-wide intersection of digital entertainment and technology. Emmy® Awards given out for primetime programming are presented by our sister organization, the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (ATAS). Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including its Regional Student Television Awards for Excellence in outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public.  For more information, please visit the website at

About CEA
The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) is the preeminent trade association promoting growth in the $190 billion U.S. consumer electronics industry. More than 2,000 companies enjoy the benefits of CEA membership, including legislative advocacy, market research, technical training and education, industry promotion, standards development and the fostering of business and strategic relationships. CEA also owns and produces the International CES – The Global Stage for Innovation. All profits from CES are reinvested into CEA’s industry services.  Find CEA online at and

For more information, please contact:
Paul Pillitteri, Director, Communications, 212-586-8424