Skip to content




NEW YORK, JUNE 9, 2020— The Foundation of the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) awarded $10,000 scholarships to each of five college-bound high school students pursuing careers in television the organization announced today.

“This year’s NATAS Foundation scholarship recipients represent a cross-section of America,” said Doug Mummert, Chair, Foundation (NATAS). “They are some of the top students pursuing an education and degree in our industry’s craft and we are proud to support their efforts and bright futures.”

“Our scholarship recipients this year represent the many pillars of television broadcasting from news, sports, animation, drama and public service,” said Melinda Roeder, Chair, Scholarship Committee (NATAS). “By the work exhibited by these gifted students, the future of our industry looks incredibly promising.”

“By investing in the great talents of these diverse and passionate students, we reaffirm our commitment to encourage and promote excellence in television for decades to come,” said Adam Sharp, President & CEO, NATAS.

This year’s talented honorees include:

Mike Wallace Scholarship – awarded to a student pursuing a career in television journalism.

Emma Harrington, Madison Central High School, Jackson, MS

Jim McKay Scholarship – awarded to a student pursuing a career in sports television.

Jonathan Burkhart, Saint Clairsville High School, St. Clairsville, OH (near Wheeling WV)

Douglas W. Mummert Scholarship – awarded to a student pursuing a career in any aspect of the television industry who has made a positive impact through community service.

Richard Christian Beck, Saint Xavier High School, Louisville, KY

Univision / NATAS Scholarship – awarded to a Hispanic or Latino student pursuing a career in any aspect of the television industry.

Anabella Pereira Mortenson, Ruth Asawa San Francisco School of the Arts, CA

Linda Giannecchini Memorial Trustees Scholarship – awarded to a student pursuing a career in any aspect of the television industry.

Ethan Levy, Glenbrook North High School, Northbrook, IL (near Chicago)

This is the eighth year of the Mike Wallace Memorial Scholarship, funded by a grant from CBS News in honor of longtime correspondent Mike Wallace (1918-2012). The Jim McKay Memorial Scholarship now in its’ eleventh year, honors sportscaster Jim McKay (1921-2008) and was established in 2009 by ABC, CBS, FOX, HBO and NBC Networks. This is the fifth year of the Univision and NATAS Trustees scholarships and the fourth year of the Douglas W. Mummert Scholarship.


The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational, and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Awards for News & Documentary, Sports, and Daytime television programming, as well as achievements in television Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of more than 18,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the United States. Beyond awards, NATAS provides extensive educational programs through its foundation, including regional and national scholarships and Student Production Awards.

For press information, please contact: 
Paul Pillitteri