Skip to content

65th Award Recipients



New York, NY – August 1, 2013 — The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) announced the recipients of the 65th Annual Technology & Engineering  Emmy® Awards that will take place on Thursday, January 9th, 2014.  This event marks the eighth consecutive year that the Technology and Engineering Emmy® Awards have been presented during CES.  The reception and presentation will take place in The Bellagio Ballroom at The Bellagio Hotel in Las Vegas beginning at 6:30 p.m.

“The National Academy’s Technology and Engineering Achievement Committee is pleased to honor these technology companies and individuals whose innovation and vision have materially affected the way the audience views television and have set the standard for technological excellence in the industry,” said committee Chairman, Robert P. Seidel, Vice President of CBS Engineering and Advanced Technology and Chairman, Engineering Achievement Committee, NATAS.

The individuals and companies that will be honored at the event include:

Development, Standardization And Productization Of The High Definition Serial Digital Interface

  • SONY

Yamashita Engineering Manufacture Inc. (FOR-A)

Personalized Recommendation Engines For Video Discovery

  • John Hey (Adobe)
  • Netflix
  • TiVo
  • YouTube (Google)
  • Amazon

In-Camera Electronic Compensation For Lateral Chromatic Aberrations In External Lenses

  • Panasonic

Inexpensive Small Rugged HD Camcorders

  • GoPro

Pioneering Wearable Camera Stabilizer Platforms

  • Garrett Brown

Pioneering Analog Video Repositioner

  • Steven Rutt
  • Robert A. Diamond

Gesture Control Systems For Video And Games (Non-Touch Screen)

  • Microsoft
  • Nintendo of America
  • SONY

Pioneering Work In Implementation And Deployment Of Network DVR

  • Time Warner Cable
  • Cablevision
  • Thirdspace (Velocix, Alcatel-Lucent)

Pioneering Development Of Video On Demand (VOD) Dynamic Advertising Insertion

  • Time Warner Cable
  • N2 Broadband (Ericsson)

Development And Standardization Of The MPEG-2 Transport Stream

ISO/IEC JJC1/SC29/WG11 Moving Picture Experts Group

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a professional service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Award for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime Entertainment, Daytime Creative Arts & Entertainment, Public & Community Service, and Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of over 13,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country. Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including Regional Student Television and its Student Award for Excellence for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public.  For more information, please visit the website at

About CEA
The Consumer Electronics Association (CEA) is the preeminent trade association promoting growth in the $172 billion U.S. consumer electronics industry. More than 2,000 companies enjoy the benefits of CEA membership, including legislative advocacy, market research, technical training and education, industry promotion and the fostering of business and strategic relationships.  CEA also sponsors and manages the International CES – Where Entertainment, Technology and Business Converge. All profits from CES are reinvested into CEA’s industry services.  Find CEA online at