Skip to content

72nd Award Recipients


The 72nd Annual Technology & Engineering Emmy® Awards Recipients

Emmy® Awards to be Presented in Partnership with NAB

New York, NY – January 25, 2021 — The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) today announced the recipients of the 72nd Annual Technology & Engineering Emmy® Awards. The ceremony will take place in partnership with the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) as part of their fall NAB Show on October 10, 2021.

“The Technology & Engineering Emmy Award was the first Emmy Award issued in 1949 and it laid the groundwork for all the other Emmys to come,” said Adam Sharp, CEO & President, NATAS. “We are extremely happy about honoring these prestigious companies, again in partnership with NAB, where the intersection of innovation, technology and excitement in the future of television can be found.”

“The Technology & Engineering Emmy Awards have always recognized the talented and innovative leaders and companies that have made the incredible world of television possible,” said Robert Seidel, Chair, Technology & Engineering Committee, NATAS.

“We are thrilled that NATAS will recognize the industry’s most innovative companies and leading technology minds at NAB Show,” said National Association of Broadcasters President & CEO Gordon Smith. “There is no venue more fitting at which to celebrate these distinguished honorees.”

The Technology & Engineering Emmy® Awards are awarded to a living individual, a company, or a scientific or technical organization for developments and/or standardization involved in engineering technologies that either represent so extensive an improvement on existing methods or are so innovative in nature that they materially have affected   television.

A Committee of highly qualified engineers working in television considers technical developments in the industry and determines which, if any, merit an award.

The individuals and companies that will be honored at the event follow.

2020 Technology and Engineering Achievement Emmy Award Winners

System to Measure Video Performances and Demographics across multiple platforms

  • Nielsen

Pioneering Development and Deployment of Server-side Ad Manipulation and/or Playout for Adaptive Bitrate Video Distribution

  • mDialog, Anvato (Google)
  • NBCU
  • This Technology (Comcast)
  • Seawell (Commscope)
  • Time Warner Cable (Charter)

Development of Open Perceptual Metrics for Video Encoding Optimization

  • Beamr
  • Netflix
  • University of Southern California
  • Université de Nantes
  • University of Texas at Austin
  • Disney
  • Google
  • Brightcove

Development of the Event Signaling and Management API Standard

  • CableLabs
  • Comcast
  • TimeWarner Cable (Charter)
  • SCTE

Pioneering Deployment of the Event Signaling and Management API

  • TimeWarner Cable (Charter)
  • Arris (CommScope)
  • Cisco
  • Envivio (MediaKind)
  • Harmonic
  • RGB Networks (Imagine Communications)
  • This Technology (Comcast)

Pioneering development of LED lighting for Television Production

  • Litepanels LTD (Vitec Production Solutions)

Cross-MVPD Dynamic Ad Insertion for Cable Network Video on Demand Content

  • Canoe Ventures

AI/Optimization for Real-Time Video Compression

  • Harmonic
  • MediaKind
  • Amazon Web Services

Invention and Pioneering Development of Intra-Pixel Charge Transfer CMOS Image Sensors

  • Eric Fossum
  • ON Semiconductor
  • Eastman Kodak

Standardization of SMPTE ST 2110

  • Video Services Forum (VSF)

Common Encryption

  • European Broadcasting Union
  • DVB

Content Delivery Networks

  • Akamai Technologies

Standardization and Commercialization of Television – Broadcast, Hybrid Electrical and Fiber-Optic Camera Cable and Connectors

  • The Association of Radio Industries and Businesses (ARIB)
  • European Broadcasting Union (EBU)
  • LEMO
  • Belden

OLED Reference Monitors for Creative, Technical, Quality Control and Client Viewing

  • LG Electronics
  • Sony Electronics

Dynamic Metadata for optimal HDR and WCG color volume mapping

  • Dolby Laboratories

Advanced Authoring Format

  • AAF Association (AMWA)
  • Avid Technology
  • BBC Research & Development
  • European Broadcasting Union (EBU)

Pioneering secure cloud-based VFX project management and collaboration at scale

  • Nelvana (Corus Entertainment)
  • Shotgun Software (Autodesk)

Development and Pioneering Deployment of Synchronized Local DMA Advertising Capability for DBS / MVPD’s

  • Ampersand
  • Comcast
  • Charter
  • Cox
  • AT&T
  • Dish
  • Invidi

Standardization of the ISO Base Media File Format

  • File Format Subgroup under ISO/IEC JTC1/SC29/WG 3

On-air Touch Screen for Data Visualization

  • CBS
  • CNN

Development of Massive Processing Optimized Compression Technologies

  • Amazon
  • Bitmovin
  • Brightcove
  • Disney
  • Encoding.Com
  • Facebook
  • Google-YouTube
  • Netflix

Newsroom Computer System (NRCS) used to plan and automate the production of linear live to air or live to recording news program

  • Associated Press
  • Avid


About NAB Show
NAB Show, held October 9–13, 2021, in Las Vegas, is the premier event for content professionals in the media, entertainment and technology ecosystem. It’s the ultimate marketplace for those seeking to create superior audio and video experiences. From creation to consumption, across multiple platforms, NAB Show is where global visionaries convene to bring content to life in new and exciting ways. For complete details, visit

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a non-profit service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational, and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy® Awards for News & Documentary, Sports, Daytime entertainment, and Daytime Creative Arts & entertainment programming, as well as achievements in television Technology & Engineering.

NATAS membership consists of nearly 18,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country.

Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including regional student television and the National Student Production Awards for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public.

For more information go to