Skip to content

73rd Award Recipients




Emmy® Awards to be Presented in Partnership with NAB

New York, NY – January 26, 2022 — The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) today announced the recipients of the 73rd  Annual Technology & Engineering Emmy® Awards. The ceremony will take place at the Wynn Encore Ballroom in partnership with the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) as part of their media and technology convention in Las Vegas on April 25, 2022.

“The Technology & Engineering Emmy Award was the first Emmy Award issued in 1949 and it laid the groundwork for all the other Emmys to come,” said Adam Sharp, CEO & President, NATAS. “We are extremely happy about honoring these prestigious companies, again in partnership with NAB, where the intersection of innovation, technology and excitement in the future of television can be found.”

“As we award this latest class of technology Emmy Awards, it is amazing to look back at all the innovation that our industry has driven in increasingly short periods of time,” said Joe Inzerillo, Co-Chair, NATAS Technology Achievement Committee.  “This latest group typifies that spirit.”

“This year’s awarded categories and companies are a testament to the technological innovation we continue to see in the delivery, consumption and monetization of television,” said Dina Weisberger, Co-Chair, NATAS Technology Achievement Committee.

The Technology & Engineering Emmy® Awards are awarded to a living individual, a company, or a scientific or technical organization for developments and/or standardization involved in engineering technologies that either represent so extensive an improvement on existing methods or are so innovative in nature that they materially have affected    television.

A Committee of highly qualified engineers working in television considers technical developments in the industry and determines which, if any, merit an award. The individuals and companies that will be honored at the event follow.

2021 Technology & Engineering Emmy Award Honorees

Video & Audio Search based on Index Feeds coming from Mutiple Sources

  • Shadow TV

In Camera Sensor and Software Stabilization

  • GoPro
  • Socionext

Correlated Double Sampling for Image Sensors

  • Marvin H. White
  • Northrop Grumman Mission Systems Group

Pioneering Development of an Image-Sensor Array with Buried-Photodiode Structure

  • Peter J. W. Noble

Standardization of Font Technology for Custom Downloadable Fonts and Typography for Web and TV Devices

  • MPEG
  • W3C – WebFonts Working Group

Common Key Technology of OTT Content

  • Apple
  • MLB Advanced Media
  • Microsoft
  • Netflix

Development of the Event Scheduling and Notification Interface (ESNI)

  • Cable Labs
  • OATC
  • SCTE

Cloud Enabled Remote Editing and Project Management

  • Arvato Systems Group
  • EditShare
  • Ross Video (Primestream)

Pioneering Development of Technologies to collect granular linear TV Viewership Data including STBs, ACR, Connected TV’s for Measurement, Marketing & Advertising

  • Bell South
  • Cablevision
  • NCM Solutions

Standardization of HTTP Encapsulated Protocols

  • Apple
  • MLB Advanced Media
  • MPEG
  • 3GPP

Management of IP Multicast Video Distribution to Desktops and TVs in News & Media Production Facilities

  • Haivision
  • Vitec

2021 Television Technology Pioneers

The Scope of the Television Technology Pioneers is to recognize historical individuals whose work has materially affected television but has not been recognized by a NATAS Technology & Engineering Emmy Award.

Maurice Leblanc has been inducted as a Television Pioneer for the first suggestions of color TV and the use of the cathode-ray tube.  For the first patent for complex television system, Paul Nipkow has also joined this celebrated group.

Maurice Leblanc:  After studying electrical engineering and working on railway projects, Leblanc established his own company. On 1880 November 2, he submitted a paper, “Study of the electrical transmission of luminous impressions,” to the French journal La Lumière électrique (Electric Light). In it, he outlined the principles of television and was probably the first to suggest color images (based on a beam-splitting prism) and the first to suggest the use of a cathode-ray tube (CRT) in the display. He also suggested vibrating mirrors for camera scanning and a variable-aperture modulator. Many of his suggestions were used in later television systems.

Paul Nipkow:  While still a student, Nipkow conceived a complete television system and was the first to patent it. His use of a selenium photocell was common by that time, but his use of a light valve based on Nicol prisms and the Faraday magnetooptical effect was new. His main creation, however, was a spinning disk with a spiral of perforations for scanning, an idea adopted widely (with modifications) by many other inventors and arguably formed the basis (40 years later) of the first television system able to reproduce a recognizable human face.

About NAB

NAB Show, being held April 23-28,2022, in Las Vegas, NV, is the premier event for content professionals in the media, entertainment and technology ecosystem. It’s the ultimate marketplace for those seeking to create superior audio and video experiences. From creation to consumption, across multiple platforms, NAB Show is where global visionaries convene to bring content to life in new and exciting ways. For complete details, visit

About The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) is a non-profit service organization dedicated to the advancement of the arts and sciences of television and the promotion of creative leadership for artistic, educational, and technical achievements within the television industry. It recognizes excellence in television with the coveted Emmy Awards for Children’s & Family, Daytime, News & Documentary, and Sports television programming, as well as achievements in television Technology & Engineering. NATAS membership consists of nearly 18,000 broadcast and media professionals represented in 19 regional chapters across the country. Beyond awards, NATAS has extensive educational programs including regional student television and the National Student Production Awards for outstanding journalistic work by high school students, as well as scholarships, publications, and major activities for both industry professionals and the viewing public.

For more information go to

NATAS Press Contact:
Paul Pillitteri
SVP, Communications

NATAS PR LA/Social Media Contacts:
Harlan Boll / 626-296-3757